Namibia has committed, through the Second National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (NBSAP 2), Fifth National Development Plan (NDP 5) and the regional BCC Strategic Action Programme, to implement MSP. The Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR) has been tasked by Cabinet, through the NBSAP 2 and NDP 5, to coordinate the process of MSP in Namibia. The MFMR initiated the formation of the Marine Spatial Planning National Working Group (MSP-NWG) which leads and implements the technical MSP process. The MSP-NWG consists of representatives from the following ministries and institutions:

  • Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry (MAWF)
  • Ministry of Defence (MOD)
  • Ministry of Environment and Tourism (MET)
  • Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR)
  • Ministry of Industrialization, Trade and SME Development (MITSMED)
  • Ministry of Land Reform (MLR)
  • Ministry of Mines and Energy (MME)
  • Ministry of Urban and Rural Development (MURD)
  • Ministry of Works and Transport (MWT)
  • Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)
  • National Commission on Research Science and Technology (NCRST)
  • National Planning Commission (NPC) 
  • University of Namibia (UNAM) 

MSP Stakeholders

A MSP stakeholder is understood as being any person or group with an interest or stake in the coastal and marine environment, and/or affected by the forthcoming Marine Spatial Plan(s) and associated planning process(es).
These stakeholders have been and will continue to be engaged in the MSP process which includes the development, implementation and reviewing of the plans.

Stakeholders represent three broad categories as follow:

  1.  Government
  •      Central government
  •      Regional councils
  •      Local authorities
  •      State owned enterprises

     2.   Industry: Stakeholders representing the key marine sectors operating in the area 

  •      Industry associations
  •      Enterprises
  •      Companies

     3.    Civil society: Stakeholders representing non-governmental and public interests

  •     Non-governmental organisations (NGOs)
  •     Research and educational institutions
  •     Local community groups and traditional authorities
  •     Traditional authorities
  •     Unions
  •     Citizen and other community-based organisations